Week 1 in review: I’m a psychic

Snap! First 2 series of the year, on the road in Boston and Tampa Bay? No problem! We spotted them both a 1-0 series lead before taking the next 2 games both times. So the Yankees have a nice 4-2 record in this young season while both the Rays and Red sox have to settle for 3-3 each. So if this were a preview to the season against these two “rivals” then we’re lookin good so far.
….as for the rest of our division, the Orioles are stumpling out of the gate, and its still early, but it might be Torontos turn this year to storm off to a hot start (5-1) before their eventual collapse. So we have that to look forward to.

The central has picked up right where it left off, where the Twins and Tigers are bickering over 1st place like bitter siblings. The west, meanwhile, is on its projected head with the Angels and Ms in last place.

In the NL, I am right now standing on a rock and proclaiming myself to be the next baseball psychic.

Why?
Heres a recap of a conversation I had with a friend last night…

Friend: Heyward went deep again.
Yankee Hater Hater: But they still lost.
F: Yeah, but hes off to a killer start.
YHH: That it? No more games tonight?
F: Just Cards n Brewers. Games all but over though.
YHH: My connections crap right now. whats goin on?
F: 7-4. Hoffmans pitching. Game over.
YHH: Pujols due up?
F: 4th. Someone needs to reach.
YHH: They will. He’ll go deep.
F: Yeah, sure.
YHH: The Holliday will tie it up with his own blast.
F: Wooooooow. Whatever you say.
YHH: Whats happening. Yahoo isnt reloading fast enough.
F: Pujols is up with a runner on.
YHH: Homer.
F:….wow. he did.
YHH: Now watch Holliday.
F: Son of a bitch!
YHH: Ha! I’m awesome.
F: 7-7 now. Inning over.
YHH: I forgive you for doubting my greatness.
F: Ok, mr prophet. How is this ending?
YHH: Walk off. this inning.
F: Fielder hitting it?
YHH: I want to say yes, but I wont. But someone will hit one out.
F: Fielder didnt do it.
YHH: I still got 2 outs…
F: I dont believe it. Somehow youre cheating.
YHH: How could I know that far in advance? Stop doubting my greatness!

The walk off was by McGehee, and the Brewers won a wild one. The best part was Hoffman blew another save shot. I have nothing against the guy, but Id prefer it if Rivera one day had the most saves all time, so the sooner Hoffman stops, the sooner Mo can be crowned king.

Anyway, I can further solidify my psychic status if the Giants can keep up their hot start (5-1).

Biggest Yankee Game
4/7/10 Yankees-3, Red Sox-1, 10 innings
Huge rubber game of the series. The winner would get some added momentum to the whole season. Curtis Granderson proved that offense > defense when it comes to home runs. Pettitte and Lackey went toe to toe in this one, proving that their ALCS performances last year were no flukes. Papelbon also proved last years ALDS was no fluke either and that he CANT go more than 1 inning.
The biggest story in this game was no doubt Curtis Granderson where he immediatly took his place in this rivalry when he launched a 10th inning home run that proved to be the game winner.
Yankees won the game, won the opening series (in Boston) and proved that there will be no repeat of last years season series.

 

Favorite Picture

 

Bradley.jpgMilton Bradley proved hes still the biggest assh0le in baseball with a 4th inning finger. How fun!

Fantasy
So, I had mostly a lackluster performance from my fantasy teams, but my Roid Sox team blew away the competition for an easy 237-200 victory. It was a blowout most of the week, even with Napoli doing almost nothing to contribute. I fixed that by grabbing Snyder from Arizona whos filling in for the injured Montero.

Speaking of Montero, his injury hurts a bunch of my teams that picked him up. He was catching for cpDOOM 2.0 during the 195-130 win. With him DLed, I picked up Olivo meaning along with Ianetta, I now have both Colorado catchers on roster. Im taking a chance with Olivos hot start that he could win the full time job. But nomatter who wins the regular starting job, Ill have whoever wins it.

My group-owned Showdown team took a hit on a 235-183 loss. It didnt help that I started the Angels pitching or Felipe Lopez at 2nd that week. Thats been rectified by starting the Yankees pitching this week and shifting Barmes to 2nd and starting my recent pick up Cabrera at SS. Im banking on a breakout performance from Everth Cabrera not only on this team, but on both my Yahoo fantasy teams.

The F*cking Lozers took a 9-3 spanking last week. It didnt help that Frank Francisco was a bum and Josh Johnson finally had to lose to the Mets. Good thing I dropped Francisco right before he lost his closers role in Texas. Replacing him on roster will be Phillys temp closer Madson. He’ll serve as a short term fix until a more permanent replacment emerges…I wish I won the race to Jon Rauch even more now…

The Pretenders did decent and Im still a little fuzzy on the points system in that league, but theyve got 71.5 ppoints and the leaders got 99.5…Along with Cabrera, Im also banking that Renterias hot start in San Francisco will hold up the rest of the year.

This week
The Defending World Champion New York Yankees open up the Stadium, raise their banners, get their rings and host the Angels and Rangers for 3 game sets. What will also be cool is that Hideki Matsui will be there in person to recieve his championship ring alongside the current Yankees.

One comment

  1. welikeroywelikeroy

    The Jays collapse last season after leading the division for the first month and a half. As a Jays fan, I wouldn’t say I’m looking forward to their collapse, but I can see how you are. I wonder how long it takes before Seattle fans start missing Carlos Silva. ha ha.

    http://homerfoodandhistory.mlblogs.com/

Leave a comment